FDCP’S ‘Pista ng Pelikulang Pilipino’ is now on its...

Exit ‘Bagets’, Enter ‘Squad Goals’ this May 9

6 May 2018 Comments (0) Views: 146 FilipiNEWS

FAMAS is all set for its 66th Awards Night

The Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences Awards (also known as FAMAS Awards) is the oldest award-giving body that is considered as prestigious; recently announces its set of nominees that surprised and impressed most of the members of the press during its launch on Thursday, May 3 at Victorino’s.

Heading the members of the panel during the event were: Francia Conrado, FAMAS president; Ricky Lee, jury chairman; Mary Liza  Diño-Seguerra; and Madonna Sanchez, executive producer.

Among the films highlighted and nominated Best Picture in the upcoming ‘Gabi ng Parangal’ are ‘Ang Larawan’, ‘Balangiga: Howling Wilderness’, ‘Birdshot’, ‘Love You to the Stars and Back’, ‘Nervous Translation’, ‘Paki’, ‘Respeto’, ‘The Chanters’, ‘Tu Pug Imatuy (The Right to Kill)’ and ‘Yield’.

Nine filmmakers Khavin dela Cruz, Mikhail Red, Thop Nazareno, Antoinette Jadaone, Shireen Seño  Treb Monteras, Arnel Barbarona, Victor Delotavo and Toshihiko Uriu are nominated for the Best Director category.

In the Best Supporting Actor and Best Actress categories, there are eight and nine nominees, respectively. Pitting against each other for the Best Supporting Actor award are Robert Arevalo (Ang Larawan), John Arcilla (Birdshot), Edgar Allan Guzman (Deadma Walking), Mon Confiado (Mha Gabing Kasinghaba ng Hair Ko), Ricky Davao (Paki), Dido dela Paz (Respeto), Jess Mendoza (Sa Gabing Nanahimik ang mga Kuliglig) and Aga Muhlach (Seven Sundays). For the Best Supporting Actress, the names of Odette Khan (Barboys), Adrienne Vergara (Bliss), Angeli Sanoy (Bomba), Chai Fonacier (Respeto), Yayo Aguila (Kiko Boksingero), Thea Yrastorza (Respeto), Cristine Reyes (Seven Sundays) and Irma Adlawan (What Home Feels Like) were listed.

Justine Samson (Balangiga: Howling Wilderness), Allen Dizon (Bomba), Jojit Lorenzo (Changing Partners), Noel Comia (Kiko Boksingero), Joahua Garcia (Love You to the Stars and Back), Timohy Castillo (NeoManila), Abra (Respeto), Dingdong Dantes (Seven Sundays), Nonie Buencamino (Smaller and Smaller Circles) and Bembol Roco (What Home Feels Like) vie for the Best Actor Award category. While Joana Ampil (Ang larawan), Angeli Bayani (Bagahe), Iza Calzado (Bliss), Agot Isidro (Changing partners), Nathalie Hart (Histiographika Errata), Maja Salvador (I’m Drunk, I Love You), Max Eigenmann (Kulay Lika ang gabi na Binudburan pa ng mga Bituin), Julia Barretto (Love You to the Stars and Back), Dexter (Paki) and Gloria Diaz (Si Apple at si Chedeng) are the names who made it to the set of nominees for the Best Actress Award category.

For this year’s recipient of the Dolphy Lifetime Achievement Award is the comedian-television presenter-actor-singer-and entrepreneur as well as one of the regular hosts on ABS-CBN’s noontime variety show ‘It’s Showtime’—Jose Marie Borja Viceral or better known as Vice Ganda. The jury has decided to give the recognition for he has starred in several films and six of which are considered the highest-grossing films in Philippine cinema.

The Best Original Song nominees like ‘Twelve’ (‘12’), ‘Ang Panday’ (Ang Panday), ‘Gitik-Gitik’ (Balangiga: Howling Wilderness), ‘Katurog Na’ (Balangiga: Howling Wilderness), ‘Yung Pakiramdam’ (Changing Partners), ‘Alaalarawan’ (Kiko Boksingero), ‘Para sa Respeto’ (Respeto), ‘Kabuwisit Ba’ (Respeto), and ‘Last Message from Earth’ (Historiographika Errata)—these are going to be available on Spotify as FAMAS 2018 Playlist.

Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) supports this year’s staging of the said award-giving body.

The 66th edition the said awards night is set on June 10 at The Theatre, Solaire and will be aired on ABS-CBN Channel 2 on June 17 via ‘Sunday’s Best’.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *