Six Pinoy Girls vie at ‘Disney Princess: I Dare...

FDCP honors Mother Lily Monteverde

7 May 2017 Comments (0) Views: 579 PinaSIKAT

AIFFA bestows 6 awards to Pinoy Films

Area official poster.

KUCHING, Sarawak, Malaysia—The biennial ASEAN International Film Festival and Awards (AIFFA) recently recognized Pinoy Films with six awards, headed by filmmaker Luisito ‘Louie’ Ignacio and actress Ai-Ai delas Alas as they won Best Director and Best Actress, respectively for their works in the film ‘Area’ at the awards night held the Pullman Hotel in Kuching, Malaysia on Saturday, May 6.

Laut official poster.


Other Filipino winners included Ana Capri who won Best Supporting Actress for ‘Laut’, another Ignacio-helmed film that depicted the lives of sea gypsies uprooted from the seas of Zamboanga to the lahar-marred part of Pampanga. Capri bested fellow Filipina actresses Cherry Pie Picache (‘Pauwi Na’) and Sue Prado (‘Area’), Vietnam’s Ngoc Hiep (‘The Way Station’) and Malaysia’s Sharitah Sakinah (‘Pekak’).

Dayang Asu official poster.

Filipino actor-director Ricky Davao was also named as Best Supporting Actor award for his role as a quarry passway manager and the mayor’s right-hand assistant in the corruption-infested world of ‘Dayang Asu’ (Dognation). Bor Ocampo directed the film.

Imbisibol official poster.

Meanwhile, ‘Imbisibol’ was awarded with Best Film Editing. The said film which was originally a play is focused on the plight of illegal Filipino immigrants in Japan. And Lav Diaz’s ‘Ang Babaeng Humayo’ (‘The Woman Who Left’), which served as the festival’s opening film, was given a Special Honor Award. Executive producer Ronald Arguelles was present to accept the award.

Arguelles of CinemaOne, producer of ‘Ang Babaeng Humayo’ (The Woman Who Left’) showed the award the film received at AIFFA 2017. Photograph courtesy of Arguelle’s facebook account.

The other recipients of the Hornbill trophies are:

    • SPECIAL JURY AWARD 1 – ‘Solo, Solitude’ (Indonesia)
    • SPECIAL JURY AWARD 2 –  ‘Ziarah: Tales of the Otherwords’ (Indonesia)
    • BEST DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY – ‘The Way Station’ (Vietnam)
    • BEST SCREENPLAY – ‘Ziarah: Tales of the Otherwords’ (Indonesia)
    • BEST ACTOR – Pham Hoang Phuoc of ‘The Way Station’ (Vietnam)
    • BEST FILM – ‘The Way Station’ (Vietnam)
    • ASEAN Spirit Award – ‘Kanang Anak Langkau’ (Malaysia)

International star Donnie Yen, who recently appeared in ‘Star Wars: Rogue One’ and topbilled ‘Ip Man’ was honored as the ASEAN Inspiration Award, the same honor given to Jackie Chan back in 2015.

2015 AIFFA Lifetime Achievement Awardee Nora Aunor presented this year’s award to Tan Sri Lakshmanan Krishnan, who is widely regarded as the father of the Malay film industry.

From more than 100 entries, AIFFA screened 31 films in competition and brought Asia’s biggest and brightest stars to a three-day festival. Nine of successfully picked films came from the Philippines.

Other Filipino films which competed in AIFFA are Derick Cabrido’s ‘Purgatoryo’, Paolo Villaluna’s ‘Pauwi Na’, Lemuel Lorca’s ‘Ned’s Project’, Atom Magadia’s ‘Dagsin’, and Zig Dulay’s ‘Paglipay’.

Marc Nelson and Rovilson Fernandez hosted the awards night where the performers were Ella (Malaysia’s Queen of Rock), Judika (Indonesia’s singing sensation), Harith Islander (World’s Funniest Person), Zainal Abidin (Malaysia’s Green Ambassador), and Fazura (from Malaysia) who had a duet with the Philippines’ Jason Dy.

AIFFA furthers the art and craft of ASEAN filmmaking by inspiring and championing the work of screenwriters, filmmakers and all artistes who use the language of film to tell a story.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *